Comments Sought for Regular Review of Nursing Dean Marion Broome

Marion Broome Regular reviews of school deans are conducted in the fourth year of their five-year term by a faculty committee. Such a committee has been appointed to review Marion Broome, dean of the School of Nursing, who has served in her post since 2014.  

Kerry Abrams, dean of the School of Law, will chair the committee.

Other members include:

  • Ed Balleisen, vice provost for interdisciplinary studies;
  • Rosa Gonzales Guarda, associate professor of nursing;
  • Kathy Pereira, clinical professor and director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice program;
  • Svati Shah, associate professor of medicine and vice chief of translational research;
  • David Toole, associate professor of the practice of theology, ethics and global health;
  • Anthony Viera, chair of the Department of Community and Family Medicine.

Dean Broome is widely regarded as an expert, scholar and leader in pediatric nursing research and practice, with leading research on helping children cope with chronic pain and illness. She came to Duke from the University of Indiana, where she was dean of the School of Nursing.

The charge to the committee poses several questions for the review, including 

  • Strategic leadership of the nursing school, including faculty recruitment, retention, and promotion as well as the overall vision of the school;
  • Commitment to diversity and to interdisciplinary research and education;
  • Communication with faculty, staff and students;
  • Administrative competencies including budgetary development and oversight;
  • Relationships with other schools and offices of the university; and
  • Fundraising, and more general development activities including donor and alumni relations.

The committee invites members of the Duke community to share thoughts on these matters, or on any others that are pertinent to the review. 

The committee will keep all comments confidential, and no comments will be attributed to individuals in the final report prepared for Provost Sally Kornbluth and Chancellor Eugene Washington. Comments may be delivered to any member of the committee or electronically to Rukmimi Balu, chief of staff to the chancellor for health affairs at

The report should be submitted to the provost and chancellor by May 31.