ACC Governance Restructuring; Price to be Vice Chair

To create a more nimble and modern governance system to meet the challenges currently facing collegiate athletics, The Atlantic Coast Conference Council of Presidents has adopted a series of changes to the ACC Constitution and By-Laws that will go into effect on July 1. In particular, the 15 league presidents and chancellors will now serve as the ACC's Board of Directors and continue to have ultimate authority over all conference affairs.

As part of these changes, Duke University President Vincent Price will serve as Vice-Chair, working with the chair, Syracuse University Chancellor Kent Syverud. ACC Commissioner John Swofford will also be the Conference's Chief Executive Officer. The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board will each serve an initial term of one year, and their respective successors will serve two-year terms.

In addition to the ACC Board of Directors, the newly constituted Executive Committee will include Syverud and Price, who will be joined by President James Clements (Clemson University), Chancellor Randy Woodson (North Carolina State University), President Neeli Bendapudi (University of Louisville) and President James Ryan (University of Virginia). The remaining members are represented on other key committees such as Finance, Audit and Autonomy and will rotate onto the Executive Committee as terms expire.

For more read the ACC news release.